Skip to main content

Steering Committee

The Steering Committee is designated as the Advisory Board reporting to the Board of Directors of the National Coalition of Human Rights Defenders.It is chaired by the chairperson who presides over all Committee meetings. He/she is  deputized by a deputy duly elected to act on his/her behalf when the chairperson is not present. It generally comprises of the five regional representatives and the six different thematic representatives. These are; HRDs working in the fields of Oil & extractives industry, Women, Minorities, Journalists and Pastoralists.

The Steering Committee  has Six thematic representatives namely:

  • HRDs in Oil and Extractives
  • Women HRDs
  • Pastoralists
  • The Batwa and other Indigineous communities
  • Journalists

The Steering Committee also has five regional focal representatives:

  • Central region (2)
  • Western region
  • Eastern Region
  • Northern Region